Congratulations to our Smeal Award Winners!

Smeal College of Business Alumni Award recipients are selected by the executive team of the Smeal Alumni Society Board in recognition of their exceptional career, leadership, and volunteer achievements, as well as the prestige their accomplishments bring to the college.

Diversity Leadership Award

Awarded to alumni who demonstrate a commitment to diversity and inclusion through their professional and/or volunteer accomplishments in support of Smeal’s goal to provide a climate of sensitivity, open-mindedness, and respect.

Gregory A. Newman ’09 Mktg

Renée L. Baker, D.B.A. ’12 EMBA

Distinguished Achievement Award

Awarded to alumni who have made significant contributions and achievements in their chosen profession, their community, and to the Smeal College of Business.

John Burke ’82 Mktg

Steven W. French ’83 Mktg

Rebecca J. Savikas ’99 Mktg

George E. Strickler ’69 Acctg

Karla Trotman ’98 B Log

Patrick G. Durbin ’91 Acctg

Outstanding Young Professional Award

In recognition of alumni age 35 years and younger who have demonstrated significant career achievements and/or community service.

Laura Cushing ’12 Fin

Tony Thambinayagam ’09 SC&IS

Service to Smeal Award

Recognizes outstanding service to Smeal through volunteer activities and/or efforts that enrich the college community.

Dr. Jeff Kaplan ’07 MBA

William C. Lane ’75 Acctg

Jonathan B. Taylor ’90 Acctg

Arthur Miltenberger ’60 B A

Gerald I. Susman Sustainability Leadership Award

Given to alumni and friends who support Smeal’s work to accelerate the integration of sustainability in business by demonstrating exceptional leadership in the advancement of sustainable business strategy, management, and practice.

Jean Oelwang ’87 Mktg

Nominations are welcome from alumni, friends, faculty, and staff of the college. To nominate someone for the 2022 Smeal College of Business Alumni Awards, visit by Oct. 4, 2021.